2 thoughts on “What SHOULD Engagement Look Like?

  1. I love your definition of student engagement. I will incorporate it into my classroom goals. I don’t think you can discount humor and playing school as vehicles to your definition. Students become invested in your classroom through trust. I do believe that you can start with students who play school and end up with the kind of level of engagement you want. I applaud your effort.

    • Thank you for your comment. I agree on the humor, but I think students who “play school” are a lot harder to reach as far as true investment. I was and still am a whiz at “playing school” and it took me 30 years to actually invest time and effort into my own learning rather than simply do the work to achieve status. Getting rid of that mentality is hard. So much depends upon a piece of paper or a number these days.

Leave a Reply

